Doctoral Student Directory

Alice Anderson

Alice Anderson
BA, BSN, MSN, OCN
PhD Student
Research interests: Self-Management of cancer pain. What constitutes a good pain management experience.

For my study, I will be collecting descriptive data using various measurement tools in multiple outpatient cancer settings using the internet to assess patients knowledge and skills, and ascertain what constitutes a good cancer pain management experience.

Email: alice.anderson@uconn.edu

Zahra Barandouzi

Zahra Barandouzi

RN, MSN, Midwifery
PhD Student
Human sexual dysfunction, Cancer prevention and diagnosis in early stage, Pain management

My research interests are human sexual dysfunction; early stage cancer prevention and diagnosis; and pain management in preterm infants.

Currently, my study focuses on the relationship between biological biomarkers and the brain-gut microbiota axis related to sexual desire and depression in persons with irritable bowel syndrome.

Email: zahra.barandouzi@uconn.edu

Katherine_Bernier

Katherine Bernier
BSN, RN
PhD Student
My current research interests are: biobehavioral mechanisms; pain management; and pain disability.
My current study focuses on characterizing the influence of stress on pain hypersensitivity in the context of persistent low back pain, specifically examining genetic, psychosocial and/or environmental mechanisms.

Email: katherine.bernier@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Neil Bidon
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: neil.bidon@uconn.edu

Denise Bourassa
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: denise.bourassa@uconn.edu

Maryann Brescia

Maryann Brescia
MSN, BSN, RN
PhD Student
My research interests are: health equity; social determinants; and, advocacy.

My current study focuses on the factors affecting access to healthcare in formally incarcerated persons as they transition back into the community.

Email: maryann.brescia@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Brittany Brocuglio Liebla
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: brittany.brocuglio-liebla@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Chidinma Byron
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: chidinma.byron@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Helena Callard
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: helena.callard@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Anna Camacho
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: anna.camacho@uconn.edu

Lucinda_Canty

Lucinda Canty
MSN, CNM
PhD Student
My research interests are African American women and maternal health disparities, maternal morbidity and mortality. My current study focuses on African American women’s lived experience of severe maternal morbidity during childbirth and postpartum.

Email: lucinda.canty@uconn.edu

Sharon Casavant
BSN, RN
PhD Student
Stress/Pain Preterm Infants

My research interests focus on the biological sequelae of repeated painful/stressful procedures on preterm infants as part of routine lifesaving care within the neonatal intensive care unit.

Email: sharon.casavant@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Jessica Cave
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: jessica.cave@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Jie Chen
BSN, MNS, RN
PhD Student
My research interests: bio-behavioral research; pain management; genetic & genomic biomarkers of pain; measures of frailty in cardiac adults.
My current study will focus on: genetic and genomic based pain management in patients with cardiovascular disease.

Email: jie.2.chen@uconn.edu

Tracey_Cobb

Tracey Cobb
PhD Student
Coming soon!

Email: tracey.cobb@uconn.edu

Megan_Coco

Megan Coco
RN, MSN, CPNP-PC
PhD Student
My current research is pain and symptom management in sickle cell disease.

My current study will focus on the relationship between sleep and chronic pain in adolescents and young adults with sickle cell disease.

Email: megan.coco@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Amisha Parekh De Campos
PhD Student
My current research interests are focused on all aspects of palliative care.

My current study will focus on understanding the differences between palliative care and hospice too often these concepts are mistaken to be the same. I want to explore ways to better educate health professionals about the differences.

Email: amisha.parekh_de_campos@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Lauren Danis
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: lauren.danis@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Tammy Davino
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: tammy.davino@uconn.edu

Michelle DeLayo
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: michelle.delayo@uconn.edu

Christine_Dileone

Christine Dileone
MSN, RN
PhD Student
My current research interests are: care of patients with Alzheimer’s Disease; nursing students’ experiences caring for these patients; and, the implications for nursing education.

My current study focuses on the (qualitative/phenomenological) experiences of nursing students caring for moderate stage Alzheimer’s disease after being prepared with simulation.

Email: christine.dileone@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Loren Fields
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: loren.fields@uconn.edu

Suzanne Franzoni-Kleeman
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: suzanne.franzoni-kleeman@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Katie Grigg
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: katie.grigg@uconn.edu

Lisa_Harrison

Lisa Harrison
MSN, PMHNP-BC
PhD Student
My current research interests are trauma informed care, healthcare organizations, and healthcare professionals’ decision making.
My current study is a metasynthesis of qualitative studies on the impact of trauma informed care on staff. I also plan to focus on the lived experience of trauma informed prescribing.

Email: lisa.harrison@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Jamie Gooch
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: jamie.hinchliffe@uconn.edu

Vanessa Hurta
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: vanessa.hurta@uconn.edu

Seja_Jackson

Seja Jackson
MS, MA, APRN, AAHIVS
PhD Student
My research interests are: HIV in aging women, HIV and stigma, LGBTQ issues, public health issues.

My current study will use thematic narrative analysis to better understand the medical experiences, stigmas, challenges and strengths of aging HIV+ women.

Email: seja.jackson@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Brenda Jaramillo White
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: brenda.jaramillo-white@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Deborah Jensen
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: deborah.jensen@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Thomas Julian
BA, BSN, RN
PhD Student
My current research interests are related to risk factors for addiction and comorbidity (depression and anxiety) in adolescent populations. I am interested in the potential contributions of serotonin genetics and neuropsychological impulsivity and distress tolerance to substance use in adolescence and young adulthood.

My current dissertation study focuses on investigating the contributions of serotonergic and opioidergic gene polymorphisms and impulsivity endophenotypes to opioid use phenotypes in young adults.

Email: thomas.julian@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Abdallah Abu Khait
RN, MSN, CNS
PhD Student
My current research interests are related to reminiscence therapy and dementia.

My current study focuses on the integration of technology and reminiscence therapy for patients with dementia.

Email: abdallah.abu_khait@uconn.edu

Valerie Kiefer
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: valerie.kiefer@uconn.edu

Zach Krom
PhD Student
Patient Deterioration

My research focus is the recognition of patient deterioration by bedside nurses and the role of surveillance and interprofessional teams.

Paulina Lacossade
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: paulina.lacossade@uconn.edu

Anna-Rae Leclaire

Anna-Rae LeClaire
BSN, RN-BC
PhD Student
My current research interests are related to interprofessional geriatric care.
My current study focuses on identifying facilitators and barriers to a model of interprofessional care for community-dwelling older adults to prevent emergency room visits and hospitalization.

Email: anna-rae.leclaire@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Payal Humbles
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: payal.mankad@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Nadeja Maseto
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: nadeja.maseto@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Patricia Mason
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: patricia.mason@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Laura McKenna
DNP Student
Implementation of Evidence-based Practice

Does an education intervention for an infant driven feeding protocol influence NICU nurses' knowledge, attitudes, and self-efficacy regarding this evidence based practice? This will involve a pre- and post-intervention survey as well as the education intervention.

Email: laura.mckenna@uconn.edu

Julia McNeil

Julia McNeil
RN, MSN/Ed
PhD Student
My current research interests are related to impulsivity and ADHD in adolescents; more specifically the influence of environment on these characteristics.
My current study focuses on understanding the adolescent with impulsive behavior by holistically viewing not only the child but the influences of the world around him, as supported by Bronfenbrenner’s theory of Human Development. My long term goal is to develop interventions to promote self-management skills for these individuals and their families.

Email: julia.mcneil@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Kathryn Mercado
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: kathryn.mercado@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Paulina Miklosz
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: paulina.miklosz@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Lisa Nemchek
RN, BSN
PhD Student
My research interests are Male breast cancer and Nurse vulnerability to violence at the bedside.
My current study will describe the experience of men living with breast cancer. Although men account for about 1% of the breast cancer population, generally men are diagnosed at a later stage than women increasing morbidity and mortality. This study provides a basis for developing an action plan to decrease gender disparity in breast cancer diagnosis.

Email: lisa.nemchek@uconn.edu

Maryanne Pappas

Maryanne Pappas
MS, APRN, FNP-BC
PhD Student
My current research interests are focused on the acute care experiences of the psychiatric patient in the Emergency Department (ED) setting from the perspective of the patient, their family and/or support system, and the ED staff.

My current study focuses on understanding the experiences of family members and/or the support system of psychiatric patients who require emergency psychiatric care. Gaining understanding of context and perspectives to clarify and drive improvement of emergency psychiatric care.

Email: maryanne.pappas@uconn.edu

Dorota Pawlak

Dorota Pawlak
MSN, APRN, FNP-BC, ADM-BC
PhD Student
My current research interests are related to type 1 diabetes in children, particularly I am interested in the everyday impact of this diagnosis on quality of life for these children and their families.
My current study will be conducted in Poland and use phenomenology to better understanding how Polish parents perceive self-management of diabetes by their children.

Email: dpawlak@uchc.edu

Mallory Perry

Mallory Perry
MS, BSN, RN, CPN
PhD Student
Pediatric Pain, Genomics

Mallory is a 3rd year PhD student at UConn. Her area of interest includes biobehavioral models of pain in children. Her current study focuses specifically on the transition from acute to chronic post-surgical pain and differential gene expression in children undergoing spinal surgeries.

Email: mallory.perry@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Christine Raymond
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: christine.raymond@uconn.edu

Vanessa Reid
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: vanessa.reid@uconn.edu

Jamie Rivera
MSN, RN, CPN
PhD Student
My research interest is Pediatric Behavioral Health and Pediatric Emergency Nursing.
My current study will use qualitative methods to explore the lived experience of nurses caring for pediatric behavioral health patients in the emergency department.

Email: jamie.rivera@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Krista Roberts
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: krista.roberts@uconn.edu

Christine Rodriguez

Christine Rodriguez
DNP Student
Development and Implementation of The Affirmative Care Program: An Evidence-Based Educational Program for Clinicians to Meet the Healthcare Needs of Transgender Individuals.

Email: christine.rodriguez@uconn.edu

Faith Selchick
DNP Student
Major concepts: endometrial cancer and obesity (BMI >/=30)

The increased incidence of endometrial cancer (EC) is largely attributed the global obesity epidemic. Women are commonly unaware of the link between obesity and EC. Through development of an education program, this project aims to increase readiness to change lifestyle behaviors, promote weight loss, and reduce obesity among patients in this population.

Email: faith.selchick@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Elizabeth Singh
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: elizabeth.singh@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Pornpan Srisopa
RN, MSN
PhD Student
My current research interests are: Major depressive disorder (MDD); Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD); and Comorbid chronic illness and MDD in adult.

My current study will use Heidegger’s interpretative processes to better understand the lived experience among patients with PTSD. I hope to develop an intervention to help these people regain a more normal life.

Email: pornpan.srisopa@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Rosemary Swanke
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: rosemary.swanke@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Megan Waldkoetter
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: megan.waldkoetter@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Margaret Wallace
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: margaret.wallace@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Nayomi Walton
PhD Student
Coming soon!

Email: nayomi.walton@uconn.edu

Stephanie Welsh
DNP Student
Delayed Cord Clamping

Stephanie Welsh’s DNP project is a pilot study examining the safety and feasibility of implementing delayed umbilical cord clamping in cesarean birth using a novel method.

Email: stephanie.welsh@uconn.edu

Matthew Witkovic
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: matthew.witkovic@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Christopher Yi
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: christopher.yi@uconn.edu

Coming Soon

Elaine Yiznitsky
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: elaine.yiznitsky@uconn.edu

Robin Zingales-Brown

Robin Zingales-Brown
DNP Student
Coming soon!

Email: robin.zingales-brown@uconn.edu